Orion Area Parade Group

Citizen of the Year

Each year, the Orion Area Parade Group recognizes a local individual who has made selfless contributions to the Orion Area. The Parade Group reviews nominations and selects a winner. The CItizen of the Year will lead our parade on Saturday, December 1st. This year's honoree is Dawn Ames.

Citizen of the Year

Past Winners:

2017: Bob Watros

2016: JoAnn Van Tassel

2015: Bob Erickson

2014: Sandy Shephard

2013: John Spokaeski

2012: Robert Hollenbeck

2011: Sue Turpen

2010: Kathy McMinn

2009: Larry Mullins

2008: Sara Van Portfliet

2007: Joe Mastromatteo

Dawn is currently the Director of Family Ministry at Lake Orion United Methodist Church, the Chair of Orion Area Youth Assistance and a community group leader for the Lake Orion/Oxford Michigan Abolitionist Project (an anti-human trafficking organization).


At the heart of all these organizations is children and youth. Dawn has a passion for helping children and youth grow, not only in their faith, but also helping them get the tools and opportunities they need to become happy, healthy, and successful members of our community.  With the support of Lake Orion United Methodist Church and the Lake Orion Community, Dawn was able to pilot Blessings in a Brown Bag which was a free summer lunch program for children and youth in the Lake Orion community that qualified for free or reduced priced lunch during the school year. The program was very successful this past summer and the hope is it will grow to reach more families next summer.


Dawn’s long term vision is to inspire the residents of Lake Orion and collaborate with local businesses and organizations to rally around the children and youth of the community that need assistance in order to provide them the help they need to flourish.


Dawn has been a resident of Lake Orion for 17 years, is married to a very supportive husband Mike, and has 5 children.